Social Studies close reading vs. ELA close reading. It’s both/and not either/or

An excellent article (as always) by History Tech regarding the teaching standards shift in Social Studies. I experienced this first hand as I entered into my public school teaching position this past spring semester. I’m still waiting on Florida to figure out that English and Social Studies are not the same subjects.

History Tech

Okay. I’m going to have to be careful here. But I’m gonna start with this:

“Social studies teachers should not worry about having kids do ELA close reading activities. Social studies teachers should not be asked to do ELA literacy activities.”

Let the throwing of things and gnashing of teeth begin.

Because I’ve seen it happen. Because when I say that in front of people, they get cranky. The Common Core says we need to integrate the language arts / literacy standards into our social studies instruction. And when I say we shouldn’t do the bidding of the English department just so that they can check off their Common Core standards responsibilities, it’s like I’m saying we should be drowning puppies.

So before things get too out of hand, let me explain.

View original post 1,206 more words

Leave a Reply

