Day Five: Greater Good

What’s the best way to donate money to numerous organizations at the same time?  Browsing and shopping online of course!  At the Greater Good website, with the simple single click of a button you can donate bowls of food, help sponsor a mammogram, pay for a meal for a veteran, help provide books to children, support Autism research, and help women rise out of poverty by becoming financially independent business entrepeneurs.  And you don’t have to donate a penny out of your own pocket.  Sponsors will donate a certain amount for each click on one of the 7 buttons on the sub-pages of the Great Good website individualized for each charity function.  See below for the different sub-pages: greater good

But what is the Greater Good?  CharityUSA owns and operates the Greater Good Network of stores and their mission is to heal the world (idealistic I know, but we all have to have a goal).  To date, they have given more than $26 million to charities worldwide.  Information on their organization in particular on the websites is scarce so I did some digging of my own.  Information on their organization can be found at the Washington Secretary of State Charities Program listing here but probably the best explanation of the way their organization works can be found here.  They do not sell products made by children or produced in unsafe or coercive work environments.  You can read more about them in their own words on the About Us page here.

My favorite part of the website is the shopping.  Each sub-page has a different store.  In each store are products that you quite often cannot find anywhere else and many are handcrafted.  In fact, many people that I know are receiving Christmas presents from The Hunger Site.  With a single order totalling $100 to myself, they told me that I support 650 bowls of food to the hungry.  Needless to say, I felt guilty for my $150 grocery bill that month.

Chilean Good Luck Pig

Chilean Good Luck Pig

The products that you receive are top quality and exactly as they are described on the site.  Their shipping is way over estimated.  I received my large box of goodies far before they told me I would.   So far, I have two favorite things I have purchased from the website.  They are small, but adorable.  The first is the Chilean Good Luck Pig: “This adorable handmade clay pig is a meaningful symbol in Chile’s vibrant culture, where tradition holds that three-legged pigs bring good luck to their owners. Makes a great gift for yourself or someone special… after all, who couldn’t use a bit of good fortune?”  It’s only $6.95 (and quite often goes on sale for around $5) and it really is adorable.  Everyone in my family is getting one in their stocking this year.

Sacred Mark Soaps

Sacred Mark Soaps

The second thing I love are these Sacred Mark soaps from the Global Girlfriend page: “Made by survivors, these 100% natural soaps are handcrafted by women in the red-light district of Bangladesh. These women have made a clean break from their previous lifestyle and have chosen soap making as an alternative source of income. Sacred Mark Enterprise allows these women to provide for themselves in a way which brings pride and respect to their community as well as themselves.  Packaged with love and marked with a thumb print by the courageous and inspirational women that make them.”  These soaps are only $6.  I do question whether or not the thumb print is actually of the woman who made them, but I did buy the Chai and the Lavender ones and they do have different thumb prints, but that’s not the major point of the soap.  They smell amazing and have made great presents as well.

Browse around the websites, read about their missions and fall in love with each website as I have.  They truly have unique items and an interesting way of business that, to me, is innovative.  I would love to see a followup to see what organizations have benefitted the most from the donations from this website but alas, I know some things are just not that easy.

The Greater Good: http://www.greatergood.com

Check them out!

Leave a Reply

